Conversations I Wish I Had

Suggestion

Behind the White Coat

Vatican

“My new EMR saleslady told me how the new system makes recommendations when you go through your pathology results. Haughtily I told her that only a board certified dermatologist is qualified to do this. She told me to just try it. And dammit the computer is right every single time and it saves me tons of time as I no longer have to type anything. And dammit I am mad about it.” — a colleague

A complex computer algorithm will do a better job than a real, live physician in the not so distant future. Soon, physicians, nurse practicioners, physicjan’s assistants will be passé, superfluous, an anachronism. The only thing that will save medicine as a profession is a collapse of modern society because of something cataclysmic like a zombie apocalypse.

But then I see patients getting treated with antibiotics for “sinus infections” when they have only been ill for…

View original post 12 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2015 by .
