Conversations I Wish I Had

Field based roles

Getting Your First Job in Relief and Development

Q. Hi Nick,

Thanks for your website and very straight up answers to questions. I’ve found a lot of the advice you give to be hugely helpful.

I had a question about ‘field based roles.’

I’m beginning to think that I took some bad advice a few years back and did an MA in Development Studies. After an office based internship with a big NGO I quickly realised that I was heading for an ill-fated career bolted to a desk with a label stuck to my forehead saying ‘generalist.’ To make matters worse the carrot that this NGO dangled in front of me under the guise of a job ‘in the field’ was in fact another in office role just this time in the target country. A cruel play on words as I found out, although I can laugh at my naivety now.

For someone who has always wanted to…

View original post 532 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2015 by .
