Conversations I Wish I Had

It’s Okay To Not Be The Chill Girl

Thought Catalog

krstn27krstn27

I suppose what I’m learning is that there’s no graduation ceremony for life. I’d sort of hoped that there was.

I had sex with a man twenty years my senior, is how this story starts. Ends.

It happened somewhere in the middle.

Days before, I’d said to a new friend – an incredibly charming Austrian – “No. I’m done dicking around. I’m looking for my husband. I’m serious about love.” And that felt like a brave thing to declare, because this guy, the Austrian, he was saying how girls just need to relax. Stop putting pressure on themselves. Enjoy sex without expectation, like “men” do. So it felt like a bold thing to do, to show my cards to the table that way, because it’s emphatically not #chill. And you know what? For a really fucking long time I played the Chill Girl card. I’m mortified to admit that…

View original post 600 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2015 by .
