Conversations I Wish I Had

Blind and Toothless 

I loved this post. Especially:
““How stressed have you been lately?”

I paused, thinking. Stress? I mentally scoffed at the notion of stress.

The optho stared at me, waiting.

“No stress.” I smiled sweetly at her.

I sounded convincing because I actually believed it myself.

[…] My body recognized it before I did. In the midst of my denial, it decided to send me a message.”

Behind the White Coat

While typing away on my accursed clinic computer a couple of years ago, all of a sudden I could not see the bottom left of the screen. It was gone. Boom! No black hole. It was simply just notthere.

It started to spread. Then, it was replaced by blurring that wound around to the center of my visual field in a sort of spiral with crisscrossing stripes of scintillating grays.

The realization hit me. My retina had clearly detached.

I was going blind!

There are two things that terrify me more than anything else in this world:

Losing my teeth and going blind.

I struggled to maintain composure as I wrapped up the visit with the patient and ran to the phone where I dialed the ophthalmology office down the street. I send them tons of patients. Surely they would find a way to work me in!?!??!? Of…

View original post 455 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2015 by .
