Conversations I Wish I Had

The Way To Find Adult Happiness Is To Stop Seeking Parental Permission

Thought Catalog

Easy AEasy A

I fucked up the other night. It was in quite a small, outwardly inconsequential way, to the uninformed observer, but for me it was huge. I fucked up because I sought out my parents’ approval on a decision I’d made.

I don’t normally do that. I don’t normally reach out to mum and dad to say, “Hey – I’m thinking of doing this particular thing, what do you think?” The way I’ve found works best for us, as a unit, is when I go to them and say, “Hey, this is happening!” and put absolutely zero investment into their agreement (or not) with my action. I presume they’ll be thrilled for me, and if they’re not I’m doing it anyway. There’s no respect lost because they see things differently. I’m not invested in their approval. I’m just gonna go right on ahead and say: because of this approach…

View original post 743 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by .
