Conversations I Wish I Had

Home, Home on the Free-Range

Such profound perspective on life and raising children. I hope I come to have as much when I become a parent. Thank you for a great read.

Cold

sick kid RockwellThis past week, all three of my kids contracted what I can only describe as the Pompeii of stomach flus.

I spent my week cuddling, medicating, holding back hair so it didn’t get barfed on, doing laundry, obsessively washing my hands, tracking diarrhea footprints all over the house, taking temperatures, dispensing Popsicles, rubbing tummies, detoxifying bathrooms, and wrapping blankets around shivering, feverish 2nd, 5th and 7th Graders.

I’m not asking for sympathy here. Not much, anyway. As a parent, this is what I do, and it’s both a responsibility and a privilege.

There’s a sweetness to caring for my sick children. It’s not just their helplessness and return to calling me “mommy” again, even after a significant reprieve. (Although that does hold a certain allure.) Somehow, they’re at their most beautiful when they’re really sick. Their pale faces glow like the full moon, their lips are pink, dry and swollen…

View original post 1,584 more words

One comment on “Home, Home on the Free-Range

  1. victoriadougherty
    January 21, 2015

    Thanks for re-blogging, Lyla. Glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2015 by .
