Conversations I Wish I Had

Coffee Anthropology

Interculturally Speaking

Coffee.

The medium is different for everyone:

Coffee mug, paper to-go cup, thermos.
Home, coffee shop, drive-through, café, diner, restaurant.
Home-ground, store-bought, carry-out, gas station.
Black (mine), cream, sugar, cream and sugar, artificial cream or sugar.
Steaming hot, somewhere-in-between (mine), iced.
Yet, all are part of a larger whole: coffee culture.

Why coffee? I think it is the anthropologist in me. I think I am drawn to the “ritual” nature of it. The inherent culture of its use intrigues me. I have always been a morning person, and I love the “feel” of mornings. Having a cup (or three) of coffee after waking up is something that links people all over the world. Even if we do not realize why, I believe it feels comfortable for us to connect to past times and/or something larger than ourselves by having an old-fashioned cup of coffee. It offers an opportunity to engage…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2015 by .
