Conversations I Wish I Had

Accepting that I don’t have to be “The Crazy One”

kinneysa06

My identity has long been the crazy one, or the one with issues. I am working to rid myself of that image, not only to others, but also to myself. For as long as I can remember, I have recognized that I am not like others, both in my ways of thinking and in my upbringing; that my experiences have made me different and therefore unable to fit in. Now I am learning that this feeling is a symptom of a much larger problem. I am Co-Dependent. This truly isn’t a surprise, but the number of my personal characteristics, or character flaws, that are “textbook Co-Dependent” really is a surprise.

My therapist suggested a book to me, Codependent No More by Melody Beattie. I made it as far as chapter 4. In this chapter, there are pages of characteristics of Co-Dependent individuals. Almost 95% of these applied to me. That was…

View original post 662 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2014 by .
