Conversations I Wish I Had

Letters to My Grown-Up Self

badpoetree

When I was younger I thought that I would be incredibly sophisticated by now. Enough that I kept my old editions of things like eighteenth-century American fiction anthologies from high school and two different paperback copies of Plato’s dialogues from my college core philosophy classes. Because grown-up me would obviously be reading these things in her (my?) spare-time. From middle school through to senior year, I had the BBC bookmarked on my browser (the most grown-up of all the grown-up news sources), and I would scroll through the “Health” and “Also in the News” sections. Not, you know, the actual “News” section.

When everybody else was celebrating the turn of the millennium, I was about 8000 years ahead of the party. Only I can live forever--mwahaha! (also-who is Jeff?) When everybody else was celebrating the turn of the millennium, I was about 7000 years ahead of the party. Clearly, I was a child ahead of my time.

I had visions of subscribing to the New Yorker (it costs $70) and enjoying my leisure hours in Manhattan (just getting there and…

View original post 182 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2014 by .
