Conversations I Wish I Had

We Need To Stop Trying To Do What We Love And Find What We Love To Do Instead

Thought Catalog

Rachel MeltonRachel Melton

I was a junior in High School when I watched Steve Jobs’ commencement address to Stanford University’s graduating class of 2005 for the first time. Looking back, I don’t think I fully understood the meaning of his speech — I had just finished my SATs, completed my college applications, and I found it hard to believe I would be dropping out of school to pursue a side project in my parents’ garage. I expected, if I did everything right, that working hard in college, earning my degree, and focusing on what I loved would earn me a well-paying, stable job upon graduating.

I learned very quickly that this is all easier said than done, and that there is a reason a dream job is not called a “reality job.” In college, I had followed Steve Jobs’ advice, or so I thought; I found what I loved: psychology, marketing…

View original post 1,433 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2014 by .
