Conversations I Wish I Had

A Reflection on Chronic Illness and Graduate School

PhD(isabled)

Blue, purple and pink lights illuminate a metal tunnel with a flat escalator in Detroit

I originally wrote the post below in June 2011. I had finished defending my PhD in English Literature in the fall of 2010 and I was depressed, in pain, and struggling with my transition out of academia. When I read my words now, I still feel the anger and hurt but the passing of time has helped me to better understand and make peace with my experience of being chronically ill during grad school. A lot of wonderful (and difficult) things have happened since 2011, and I am still finding my way in the world, which includes a rejection of identifying as abled-bodied (I feel that I exist in the nebulous space between the binary poles of abled and disabled). Part of the process of making sense of my experience has been engaging in disability studies and science fiction as an independent scholar. I am heartened to see that a…

View original post 1,186 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2014 by .
