Conversations I Wish I Had

Politically Correct Me If I’m Wrong

Thought Catalog

anaken2012 / (Shutterstock.com) anaken2012 / (Shutterstock.com)

In response to an article in The Wall Street Journal by Harvey Silverglate titled “Liberals are Killing the Liberal Arts,” I sent my family a four-paragraph email vehemently responding—but maybe not in the way you would expect.

The article addresses the negative reaction toward a recent panel held at Smith College entitled “Challenging the Ideological Echo Chamber: Free Speech, Civil Discourse and the Liberal Arts.” Silverglate goes on to berate the evolving academic culture of censored speech in the pursuit of sensitivity.

As a current senior at Miami University (the one in Ohio), this is something I am very familiar with. Miami students and some organizations recently held protests over keynote speaker George Will because of his controversial opinions on sexual-assault protocol. I was really proud of my university for holding their ground and going forward with Will’s lecture despite widespread protests. I…

View original post 537 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2014 by .
