Conversations I Wish I Had

If You LOVE Fashion Theory……

kase/disclosed

As part of my senior thesis project, I wrote a literature review regarding fashion theory and its relation to identity politics.  It’s a topic near and dear to my heart. Give it a read if you dare!

Fashion as a Means of Identity Expression

The works on fashion theory that I have selected examine clothing as a way to both stand out from, and fit in with, certain cultural norms, making clothing an indicator of personal identity and public representation. I have split these theories into the following sections: identity and agency, group identification, culturally situated standards, class, and the development of clothing trends. Additionally, I have selected various ethnographic works on clothing that differ in terms of place and date in order to include a diverse sample. Through reviewing this literature, it is my goal to assess various fashion theories in order to apply them to the distinct ethnographies…

View original post 837 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 9, 2014 by .
