Conversations I Wish I Had

Reverse culture shock and the new normal

From the Earth Up

I have spent seven months of this year doing fieldwork in Northern Ghana. I returned to the UK yesterday and now I need to readjust to life in the UK. I have previously written about the realities doing fieldwork overseas, but another reality is reverse culture shock on return from fieldwork. I am currently experiencing a range of things for which I got used to the Ghanaian way and now my instinct needs to readjust to doing things the UK way. Though I’ve lived in the UK for most of my life I still need to adjust to the new normal of life in the UK rather than the normality of life in Ghana.

Returning from fieldwork means trying to get into a car on the wrong side.

Returning from fieldwork means taking a bottle of water to the bathroom to clean your teeth with because you are in…

View original post 407 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2014 by .
