Conversations I Wish I Had

Finding Structure & Productivity Despite Stress & Self-Doubt

I had never made the connection between ‘imposteur syndrome’ (which I definitely have) and procrastination. Thank you for this awesome post πŸ™‚

Tenure, She Wrote

I think I can remember when it began. Nearly 10 years on, I can faintly recall the comments on that paper, the subtle doubt expressed by a pregnant pause in a conversation with a mentor, the moments that I interpreted as meaning that I was not as strong a scholar as I believed myself to be. Instead of leaning on all of the positive affirmation that I had received previous to these interactions, these moments lodged themselves in my memory, and eventually chipped away at my confidence.

You may be thinking that this just plays like a typical case of imposter syndrome. And it does – Because it is. I am not the first scholar to battle the kind of self-doubt that can wake you in a cold sweat. But I can speak to the long-term impacts of this struggle. Imposter syndrome takes what is your core belief in…

View original post 890 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 27, 2014 by .
