Conversations I Wish I Had

On Mental Health: My Reasons for Letting the Sunshine In

Beautifully said and I couldn’t agree more. I think that only by being candid about such issues will people start seeing the human face of mental illness. Society needs to overcome this stigma and it starts through one person’s actions. Thank you so much for writing about this topic.

RobertLovesPi's Blog

141025_0000

There are quite a few posts on this blog on the subject of mental health, and they can be easily found by simply looking at that category, in the pull-down menu on the right side of your screen. In these posts, I have been quite candid about such things as my own panic disorder, PTSD, and Asperger’s Syndrome.

What I have not done, until now, is explain my reasons for my openness on this subject.

First and foremost, I am trying to do what I can to remove the stigma which surrounds the entire subject of mental illness. This stigma is harmful, for it keeps millions of people who need help from mental health professionals from seeking it, out of fear of being labeled and/or ostracized — or worse. I learned this the hard way:  by experiencing it. I had my first panic attack at age 16. Like most panic…

View original post 618 more words

One comment on “On Mental Health: My Reasons for Letting the Sunshine In

  1. RobertLovesPi
    November 1, 2014

    Thank you for sharing this! =)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2014 by .
