Conversations I Wish I Had

6 Life Lessons I Learned From My Dad’s Death

Thought Catalog

Jonathan Weiss / (Shutterstock.com) Jonathan Weiss / (Shutterstock.com)

My dad died from ALS when I was 20. The whole event was expected, yet it still felt unexpected.

It happened when I got home from work one morning. My brother walked in with tears in his eyes and said, “Pa just passed away.” I dashed to the master bedroom and saw the most insane sight of my life, my dad’s lifeless body on the bed. It was that moment, that surreal feeling I felt, that changed me forever.

Death makes life different for everyone. Here’s what I learned:

1) Shit is real. Very real.

Cancer. Disaster. Getting mugged. Going broke. They’re all real, too.

The average person reads the papers in the morning and goes, “Oh, that’s sad” when he sees the jarring headline depicting tragedy, devastation, and anything to do with innocence lost.

But that’s all it is to him: a piece…

View original post 560 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2014 by .
