Conversations I Wish I Had

Venice & Artichoke Pasta

OH yummy!

hungry sofia

IMG_3201With the days getting crisp, it seemed like a good time to pick up my much delayed Italian travelogue where I left off – Venice.  I’d been once before on a rushed trip that I would describe as a 36-hours of disorientation broken up by moments of heart-stopping beauty – mostly gilded.  It’s all very romantic until you realize just how lost you are and panic sets in.  A dense concentration of  sites that you have to see at least once surrounded by an even denser network of tourists traps hotels, restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops, it was impossible to visit one without falling into the other – especially during our abbreviated trip.  On the last day, I felt a little bolder and found myself in Cannaregio.  It was the first sign of normal life I’d experienced there, and I promised myself that next time would be different.

View original post 884 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2014 by .
