Conversations I Wish I Had

Transitioning in Academia

My words may be trite, but however mild the influence of the compliments and encouragements of a stranger may be, I’d like to tell you you’re just impressive. Completely and utterly impressive. I think you’re already as it is an example of resolve and determination for going through this. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Tenure, She Wrote

Working your way through the academic career takes a lot of time commitments, and often we are pressured away from any time-consuming activities that would take us away from our work. Having children is a huge one, which has been discussed and continues to be discussed as academia works on better policies for women to maintain a work/life balance without losing their careers. As I’ve gone through my academic journey as a trans woman, I’ve had to navigate another tricky balance: transitioning in academia.

View original post 658 more words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2014 by .
